Proudly celebrating eleven years of faithfully serving our readers, the people of Henry County


"Celebrating Henry County"


Hey Henry
Submit A Hey Henry
As It Was
Look Closer
Church Notes
Submit A Classified
Click & Save
Inside Henry
Where in The World

Site Search
Contact Us
Find Us
Site News





We have 15 new
Hey Henrys
this week!

Submit your
"Hey Henry"





City councils to swear in
new elected officials


By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent 

  The New Year means new faces on the city councils in Henry County, and all of them are to be sworn in during the next two weeks.

  Hamptonís new mayor, former councilman Steve Hutchison, will take office Jan. 7 along with new councilman Zakery Daniel. Returning council members Charles Hearn, Marty Meeks and Mary Ann Mitcham will be sworn in for their new terms at the meeting as well. That is the night of the councilís regular meeting for January, although the council could vote to change the schedule for the rest of 2014. They meet in the council chambers at 17 East Main Street.

  There are no changes on the Locust Grove City Council, as incumbents Keith Boone, Samuel Brown and James Rosser won re-election. They will be sworn in at the beginning of the Jan. 6 meeting, and there are no plans to change the meeting schedule. The council meets the first Monday of each month at 7 p.m. except for September, when the first Monday is Labor Day and the meeting is the next evening. The monthly workshop meeting is the third Monday at 7 p.m. except for January, when the third Monday is the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday and the workshop is the next night. Meetings are in the council chambers at City Hall, 3644 Hwy. 42.

  McDonough Mayor Billy Copeland begins a new term this month, as do incumbent council members Rufus Stewart and Sandra Vincent. Roger Pruitt and Craig Elrod will join the council in January as well. The councilís workshop meeting is the first Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m. The regular council meeting is the third Monday at 6 p.m. All meeting are in the council chambers on the second floor of City Hall at 136 Keys Ferry Street.

  In Stockbridge, Tim Thompson takes over as mayor at the Jan. 13 meeting. He will be sworn in that night at 6 p.m. along with new council members Anthony Ford and Lakeisha Gantt, and the first meeting of the new council will immediately follow. The Stockbridge City Council meets the second Monday at 6 p.m. in the council chambers on the second floor of City Hall at 4640 N. Henry Blvd. The workshop meeting is the previous Tuesday at 6 p.m.

  Regular meetings of the Henry County Board of Commissioners are the first and third Tuesday of each month. The first Tuesday meeting is at 9 a.m. and the third Tuesday meeting is at 6:30 p.m. These meetings are in the community room in the countyís Administration Building at 140 Henry Parkway in McDonough.

  The Henry County Board of Education meets the second Monday at 7 p.m. in the main auditorium of the school systemís central office at 3 N. Zack Hinton Pkwy. in McDonough. The monthly work session is at 4 p.m. the previous Wednesday.

  The Henry County Water Authority will meet Thursday, Jan. 9, at 8 a.m. in its headquarters building at 1695 Hwy. 20 W. in McDonough. At that meeting the board will decide on its schedule for the remainder of 2014.



©Henry County Times, Inc.